A Voyage Within

In my youth, I was first confronted with a question that seemed alien to my understanding – Do I love myself? The question echoed in the chambers of my heart, bouncing off the walls of my soul. Love myself? The concept was as foreign as a language yet to be learned.

As the sands of time slipped through the hourglass of my life, I came to not only comprehend this notion but to embody it. It was a journey, a voyage that spanned the length of my existence. It was not about vanity or egotism, far from it. It was about being the most loyal companion to oneself, the kind of friend who stands by you when the world turns its back.

When life presents a conundrum, a situation that leaves you standing at the crossroads of uncertainty, think of the counsel you would offer to a cherished friend. Listen to that inner voice, your sixth sense, that whispers words of wisdom in your ear. It is your guiding light, leading you on the right path 99.99% of the time. Heed its call.

This journey is about self-respect, about standing tall in the face of adversity and refusing to let anyone belittle you. It’s about recognizing who truly values you, who holds your best interest at heart. Never allow yourself to be trampled upon, to be used or worn down.

It’s about embracing love for yourself, a love so radiant that it illuminates the hearts of others. For if you cannot harbor love for yourself, how can you possibly extend it to others?

In the end, it all boils down to two simple yet profound words – Love and Peace. Love yourself, and peace will follow. For in loving ourselves, we find peace within, and in finding peace, we learn to love ourselves even more. It’s a beautiful cycle, one that begins and ends with you.

Copyright © Beatriz Esmer

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.