Hope Amidst Uncertainty

Once upon a time, a lover compared me to the Atlantic, vast, and profound. They saw in me an expanse so wide, so deep, that it was beyond comprehension. But I never wanted to be the ocean, a mystery too great to fathom, a depth too deep to explore.

Instead, I yearned to be the waves, the ones that dance upon the ocean’s surface. The waves that rise and fall, that ebb and flow with the rhythm of the moon. The waves that, despite their constant motion, never lose their essence. They break upon the shore, only to retreat and rise again, never truly falling apart.

I want to embody the resilience of the waves, their unending cycle of rebirth. To break, to crash, to dissolve into foam, and yet, to reform and rise again. To carry the weight of the ocean within me, but to wear it lightly, like a veil of mist upon the sea.

I want to learn from the waves, to embrace their transient nature. To understand that breaking is not the end, but merely a transformation. A chance to retreat, to gather strength, and to rise again, more beautiful than before.

So, let me be the waves, not the ocean. Let me be the dance upon the water, the laughter in the wind, the whisper in the shell. Let me be the promise of a new dawn, the hope of a new beginning. For in breaking, I do not fall apart, but find the strength to rise again.

Copyright © Beatriz Esmer

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.